Follow the Money – Latin America is the Place to Be
 
 
We are confident that Latin America will not only bring into production many new deposits in the following years, but that many new discoveries will be made as well. We follow the money as Latin America is apparently the place to be.
 
Latin America continues to be the most popular destination for exploration investments in the world. According to the latest “World Exploration Trends” by the Metals Economics Group, 25% of total exploration investments worldwide were headed to Latin America in 2011 (in contrast to 10% in 2003), whereas 15% of all spending worldwide went to 3 countries: 1. Mexico (6%), 2. Chile (5%) and 3. Peru (4%).
 


More than $425 billion in investments have already been budgeted by international resource companies for the development of deposits in Latin America for the next 5-10 years, whereas the lions share flows to Chile, Peru and Colombia. (1)

Most near-surface deposits in other regions of the world with traditional sound mining jurisdictions have already been discovered and are increasingly being depleted thanks to technological advances in exploration and mining since the 1970s. Many of the largest deposits worldwide are being brought into production in Latin America these days, yet Latin America is still considered as being relatively underexplored, because its laws were not favorable for foreign companies in the past. During the last decade, a drastic change in politics and attitude towards foreign mining companies has occurred in Latin America with the result that most exploration funds are now flowing there continuously. Peru, Chile and Mexico rank among the 3 mining-friendliest countries in Latin America (according to the Fraser Institute) and the Top-10 in the world. While the frameworks and jurisdictions for exploration and mining are worsening in many other regions (e.g. Australia or China), Latin America is increasingly improving its regulations. Peru is ranked third in the world in terms of gold, silver, copper and zinc reserves, yet from a mining standpoint, only 15% of the country has been explored leaving immense potential for future discoveries.
 
Already, Peru has experienced 10 years of consecutive economic growth and ranks as one of the fastest growing economies in the world (in 2006-2009, GDP grew on average 9% per year) in hand with one of the lowest inflation rates in Latin America. This is mainly due to Peru being the largest silver producer in the world, the third largest in copper and zinc, the fourth largest in lead and the sixth largest gold miner. The government looks favourably on foreign mining investments as a method of helping to finance the countrys development. The credit rating agencies Standard & Poors, DBRS, Moodys and Fitch have all given the country “Investment Grade” status.  In 2009, mineral exports made up 61% of export revenue. Peru has signed Free Trade Agreements with China, Canada, USA and other countries and has executed more than 30 international investor agreements which effectively protect investors.
 
In no other Latin American country does mining represent the main engine of the economy as is the case with Peru. Exports from the mining sector total some $30 billion, out of which around $10 billion is earned from gold and $7 billion from silver exports. With an output of 170 tons in 2010, Peru ranks as the worlds sixth largest gold producer. Illegal mining accounts for around 25% of that output, with a strong tendency that it will shift to foreign companies as mining regulations are increasingly tightened by the Peruvian government (for the benefit of sound/regulated mining). The third largest gold producer, USA, mined 210 tons in 2010, whereas #2 Australia had an output of 255 tons and China 345 tons – which translates into Peru having a realistic chance of ranking among the 3 largest gold producers in the near future as a production increase of around 25% is solely required to achieve this.


 
The map from Infomine.com shows major mines in Peru with Yanacocha in the northern Andes being one of the largest and most profitable gold mines in the world (with varying amounts of silver). The Yanacocha district is a 10 x 4 km area of altered rocks within an extensive belt of Tertiary volcanics that extends the whole length of Peru and which also hosts the epithermal gold deposits Lagunas Norte and Pierna.
 
The recent violent protests by anti-mining groups lead to the Peruvian government stepping in rigorously – which shows how pro-mining politics are increasingly turning these days and even radically enforceing the development of new mines as they know how beneficial foreign investments really are (mining already accounts for 61% of its economy, whereas fresh foreign investments of some $50 billion stand ready today for the development of only a few large deposits during the next years):
 
“Perus government declared a 30-day state of emergency on Monday night after two people were killed and dozens of police officers injured in violent anti-mining protests against Swiss-based Xstrata near Cuzco, in south eastern Peru. The protesters, reports local paper El Comercio, accuse the Tintaya copper mine, owned by worlds fourth-largest copper producer Xstrata, of polluting local water supplies and killing farm animals. Perus president of the cabinet, Oscar Valdés, said in an official statement the government was urgently seeking to restore dialogue. “These protesters are very radical and opposed to dialogue and so to ensure safety we are declaring a state of emergency,” he said. Until negotiations are restored, Perus army and security forces will have special powers to quell protests and clear roadblocks that have cut off the mine.” (2) Reuters reported shortly thereafter: “Thousands of Peruvians marched in support of the countrys biggest-ever mining project yesterday, a day after the government implemented emergency powers to control an anti-mining protest in the south that turned deadly. The rally in the northern region of Cajamarca in favour of Newmont Minings $4.8 billion Conga project praised the economic benefits of mining, a contrast to demonstrations in Cusco against Xstratas Tintaya mine in which two people were killed.” (3) “Conga has gold deposits worth about $15 billion at current prices and would be the biggest investment ever in Peru mining. It is a crucial test for newly installed Humala who has on many occasions publicly backed the project. Royalties and taxes to the government from Conga, which would also produce copper, could total $800 million per year and operation was scheduled to start in 2014.”
(4)
 
Foreign resource companies not only make possible the export of a countrys resources to global markets, but also the import of money, technologies and know-how creating new industries, infrastructure, incomes, jobs, qualified work-forces and taxes. If the people of a country feel they are not participating in that knowledge and wealth creation, then they must pressure the government and not foreign mining companies as the latter are just doing what they are allowed to do as per the framework set by the respective government. 
 
Other senior mining companies with operations in Peru include Barrick, BHP Billiton, Rio Tinto, Xstrata, Pan American Silver, First Quantum, Rio Alto, Hudbay, Candente Copper and Chinese state-owned Chinalco. While it is typically the large mining projects that traditionally face heavy protests by anti-mining groups, smaller projects normally go through the stages from exploration to production smoothly and without much public notice. Since Peru is so rich in minerals, there are many thousand of small illegal mines producing for example >40 tons of gold per year. This is possible mainly due to the geological characteristics of hydrothermal gold and silver deposits which are typically a few meters wide with high-grade veins running for some hundred meters near the surface making possible low-cost underground mining using adits a few meters wide to follow the veins. If the veins are sufficiently enriched with gold and/or silver, a mining operation can start rather quickly as immediate cash-flow is generated by the very first meters in following the veins which enables company to re-invest that cash-flow into further low-cost exploration and infrastructure on site. Silvercorp Metals Inc. (TSX: SVM) started (financing) its mining operations exactly like that and is today one of the worlds most profitable silver mines. As it is rather unlikely to find another such large silver deposit in the world today as Silvercorp did some 10 years ago, there exist hundreds of smaller, less complex and less costly deposits especially in Latin America that would enable a (private or public) company to start production relatively fast within a few months after discovery and initial resource calculation. In such cases, no year-long and multi-million dollar drill campaigns and feasibility studies must be undertaken as the mining operation is to be classified as a small mining operation generating cash-flow of some 10s million dollar per year for a couple of years with only small and low-cost infrastructure required on site.
 
One of the exploration companies we follow closely is Sunset Cove Mining Corp. (TSX: SSM) which was founded in 2008 by Lorne Woods and Marc Blais. We know Woods from the elephant-sized success story of Osisko Mining Corp. (TSX: OSK) which discovered >10 million gold ounces in Canada and is now worth >$3 billion. We also follow Woods, because he regularly writes good readable articles in his blog about global economies, stock markets, resource stocks and countries like Peru, where he, as the CEO & President of SSM, manages the development of some high-grade near-surface silver veins into a small mine within a relatively short time. Together with Blais, both have 35 years of experience in managing mining operations and in financing public companies. As we know them from Osisko times, we also know them as having access to a handpicked international network of private and institutional investors, banks and brokers. During the last few years, they have installed an uniquely experienced Peruvian team consisting of a Mining Engineer, a Mining Geologist and a well-established General Manager all of whom have extensive experience in working with international and Peruvian mining companies. Together, they have access to a crucial network rich in local knowledge and experience in bringing deposits into production without much hassle.



Currently, its flagship is the Carolay polymetallic silver property, where advanced exploration drilling is taking place during 2012. The mineralization found on Carolay and the adjacent Marañon sector fits into the model of hydrothermal polymetallic and feeder vein systems with “mantos” (metasomatic replacement zones rich in base metals like zinc, lead, gold, silver and copper) and is similar to that found in the highly prolific Coeur DAlene silver district in Idaho, which historically has produced more silver than any other silver district in the USA. The companys NI43-101 Technical Report for Carolay, which now totals 5,784 ha, demonstrates a mineable grade of 269 g/t silver. A new vein, Carolay 4, has recently been discovered and surface samples taken from its 13 meter length show 352 g/t silver, whereas one sample returned 4,674 g/t silver. There are also indications of a disseminated copper ore body on the property, potentially porphyry style. Porphyry deposits are the single largest source of copper in the world and can also be major sources of silver and gold.


 
During 2012, SSM intends to focus on its flagship Carolay property by continuing its core drilling campaign of around >6,000 meters until the end of the year and completing an updated NI43-101 Technical Report to accomplish two objectives: 1. To prepare the first Carolay resource calculation. 2. To begin exploring the recently acquired Humberto and Marañon sectors, which were acquired in late 2011 and have more than doubled the property to 5,784 ha. Surface sampling has been positive and both are ready to be explored by drilling to reveal their potential. Additionally, the highly prospective Carolay 4 vein will be more thoroughly developed.
 


All of SSMs properties are located near existing significant mining or exploration projects. The company is not only publicly traded on the Toronto Exchange (TSX.V: SSM), but also on the Bolsa de Valores de Lima in Peru (BVL: SSM). SSM is headquartered in Toronto, Ontario, with an office in Montreal. The companys wholly owned Peruvian subsidiary is based in Lima (Minera Sunset Del Peru SAC).
 
Carolay is located near the village of Ushnobal in La Libertad. Low-volume artisanal silver mining had taken place at Carolay during the 1870s. The previous titleholder had insufficient capital to fund further exploration. After a thorough evaluation process and negotiations, SSM took possession of the property.


 
Located 550 km NNW of Lima, the regional geography at Carolay is made up by Precambrian aged metamorphic rocks of the Maranon Metamorphic Complex famous both for its rich mineralization and its potential for discoveries. It is co-magmatic with the Pataz Batholith located within the gold and silver Pataz mining district. Both geological formations – Maranon and Pataz – stem from the same magma flow. Carolay is located on the fringes of the Pataz Batholith. The productive Pataz Mining Belt is internationally known for its rich gold and silver deposits. According to the Geological, Mining & Metallurgical Institute of Peru, 6 million gold ounces have been produced in the Pataz, Parcoy and Buldibuyo mining districts from 16 mines over the last 100 years.
 
Nearby and around the Carolay property there are blocks of claims held by Minera Aurifera Retamas and Consorcio Minero Horizonte. These Peruvian mining companies operate well-known precious metals deposits in the general area of the Maraňon Fault, a well known metallotect. Several claim holders are present immediately south and contiguous to Carolay. Within a 50 km radius, the important gold and silver producers Poderosa, Maraňon, Retamas and Horizonte operate producing mines. The same geological features found in these precious metal production zones can be found at Carolay, whereas the topographic, tectonic and petrographic setting is similar.
 

 
Economic grades of silver have been found in the samples taken for the NI43-101 report on Carolay, such as 269 g/t silver, 0.9% zinc, 0.8% lead, and 0.3% copper. The mineralization found on the Carolay property and the adjacent Marañon sector fits into the model of polymetallic and feeder veins and is similar to that found in the Coeur DAlene silver district. On May 30, SSM released the assays from the first drill hole intersecting a high-grade vein with 151 g/t silver for almost half a meter. Further assays from the ongoing drill program will be released any time now plus providing the stock with a regular news-flow potentially confirming the extension of such veins and discovering new zones of high-grade mineralization. 
 
SSMs ability to find and acquire properties like Carolay stems from the network it has established in Peru through decades of working in-country and through the relationships that its Peruvian staff have made after a combined 48 years working for major Peruvian and multinational companies. This ability provides the company with an advantage that few others can meet.
 

 
Disclaimer: Please read the full disclaimer at www.rockstone-research.com
The above editorial is not to be construed as an investment advice, consultation, or even recommendation to buy, sell or even hold any kind of securities or financial instruments of the above mentioned companies, any other company, market or physical commodity. The author was not paid or remunerated by the above mentioned companies. The author does not hold any securities of the above mentioned companies, but may initiate purchases of SSM after 72 h of the above publication.

Folge dem Geld – Latein-Amerika ist Region erster Wahl
 
Wir sind zuversichtlich, dass in Latein-Amerika nicht nur einige neue Lagerstätten während den nächsten Jahren in die Produktion gebracht werden, sondern dass auch unzählige neue Entdeckungen gemacht werden. Wir folgen dem Geld, da Latein-Amerika anscheinend die Region erster Wahl ist.

Latein-Amerika ist erneut die populärste Region für Explorationsinvestitionen in der Welt. Gemäss dem neuesten Report “World Exploration Trends” von der Metals Economics Group wurden letztes Jahr 25% aller weltweiten Explorationsausgaben in Latein-Amerika getätigt (im Gegensatz zu 10% im Jahr 2003), wobei 15% in 3 Länder flossen: 1. Mexico (6%), 2. Chile (5%), 3. Peru (4%).
 
Mehr als 425 Mrd. Dollar an Investments wurden bereits von internationalen Rohstoffunternehmen für die Entwicklung von Lagerstätten in Latein-Amerika während den nächsten 5-10 Jahren eingeplant, wobei der Grosstein in die 3 Länder Chile, Peru und Kolumbien fliessen soll. (1)

Die meisten Lagerstätten, die nahe der Erdoberfläche vorkommen, wurden in anderen Regionen der Welt, in denen traditionell volkswirtschaftlich gesunde Bergbau-Rahmenbedingungen vorherrschen, bereits entdeckt und erschöpfen sich zunehmend dank den technologischen Fortschritten in den Bereichen Exploration und Abbau, die seit den 1970er gemacht wurden. Viele der grössten Lagerstätten der Welt werden derzeit in Latein-Amerika in die Produktion gebracht, wobei die Region noch immer als relativ unterexploriert gilt, da die Rahmenbedingungen für ausländische Unternehmen in der Vergangenheit ungünstig bis nicht gegeben waren. Während dem letzten Jahrzehnt fanden drastische Veränderungen in der Politik und Einstellung Latein-Amerikas gegenüber ausländischen Rohstoffunternehmen statt – mit dem Ergebnis, dass die meisten Explorationsausgaben nun dorthin fliessen. Gemäss dem Fraser Institute befinden sich die Länder Peru, Chile und Mexiko unter den 3 minenfreundlichsten Länder von Latein-Amerika und in den Top 10 der Welt. Während sich die Rahmenbedingungen und Rechtssprechungen für die Minenbranche in vielen anderen Regionen verschlechtern (z.B. Australien oder China), so verbessern sie sich zunehmend in Latein-Amerika. Peru befindet sich auf Platz 3 der grössten Gold-, Silber-, Kupfer- und Zink-Reserven weltweit, wobei bis dato nur etwa 15% des Landes exploriert wurden und sich so ein erhöhtes Potential für zukünftige Entdeckungen eröffnet hat.
 
Schon jetzt verbucht Peru 10 Jahre hintereinander Wirtschaftswachstum und befindet sich unter den am schnellsten wachsenden Länder der Welt (zwischen 2006-2009 stieg das BIP im Schnitt um 9% p.A. an) mit einer Inflation, die zu den niedrigsten in Latein-Amerika zählt. Dies verdankt sich vornehmlich dem Stellenwert Perus, der grösste Silberproduzent der Welt zu sein, sowie der 3. Grösste von Kupfer und Zink, der 4. von Blei und der 6. Grösste von Gold.  Die Kreditrating-Agenturen Standard & Poors, DBRS, Moodys und Fitch haben Peru allesamt den Status “Investment Grade” verliehen. Peru hat Freihandelsabkommen mit China, Kanada und USA unterzeichnet und mehr als 30 internationale Investitionsverträge abgeschlossen, welche die Investoren effektiv schützen.
 
In keinem anderen Land Latein-Amerikas repräsentiert die Minenbranche den Hauptantrieb seiner Volkswirtschaft wie es in Peru der Fall ist. Exporte dank der Minenbranche machen bereits etwa 30 Mrd. Dollar aus, wovon rund 10 Mrd. Dollar mit Gold und 7 Mrd. Dollar mit Silber verdient werden, wobei der illegale Abbau rund 25% von diesem Output ausmacht – mit einer starken Tendenz, zunehmend an ausländische Unternehmen überzugehen, da die Gesetzgebung von der peruanischen Regierung zunehmend verschärft wird (zu Gunsten gesunden/regulierten Rahmenbedingungen bei der Rechtssprechung). Der 3. grösste Goldproduzent (USA) förderte 210 Tonnen 2010, während Nr. 2 Australien einen Output von 255 Tonnen verzeichnete und China 345 Tonnen – was bedeutet, dass Peru die realistische Chance hat, in naher Zukunft zu den 3 grössten Goldproduzenten aufzusteigen, da hierzu eine Produktionssteigerung von lediglich rund 25% vonnöten ist.
Die obige Karte von Infomine.com zeigt einige der bedeutendsten Minen in Peru, wobei Yanacocha in den Nord-Anden zu den grössten und rentabelsten Goldminen der Welt zählt (mit variierenden Silbergehalten). Der Yanacocha Distrikt ist ein 10 x 4 km grosses Gebiet mit Gesteinsalteration innerhalb einem Gürtel (“belt”) aus tertiären Vulkaniten, der sich durch die ganze Länge des Landes ausdehnt und auch die epithermalen Gold-Lagerstätten Lagunas Norte und Pierna beheimatet.
 
Die vor kurzem stattgefundenen Proteste von Anti-Minengruppierungen hat die peruanische Regierung dazu bewogen, rigoros einzugreifen – welches Verhalten verdeutlicht, wie “Pro-Mining” die Politik mittlerweile geworden ist und die Entwicklung von neuen Minen sogar mit radikalen Mitteln erzwingt, da sie weiss, wie vorteilhaft ausländische Investitionen tatsächlich sind (die Minenbranche macht bereits 61% der Gesamtwirtschaft aus, während neue Auslandsinvestitionen i.H.v. rund 50 Mrd. Dollar heute bereit stehen, um in den nächsten Jahren einige wenige grosse Lagerstätten gen Mine zu entwickeln):
 
“Perus government declared a 30-day state of emergency on Monday night after two people were killed and dozens of police officers injured in violent anti-mining protests against Swiss based-Xstrata near Cuzco, in south eastern Peru. The protesters, reports local paper El Comercio, accuse the Tintaya copper mine, owned by worlds fourth-largest copper producer Xstrata, of polluting local water supplies and killing farm animals. Perus president of the cabinet, Oscar Valdés, said in an official statement the government was urgently seeking to restore dialogue. “These protesters are very radical and opposed to dialogue and so to ensure safety we are declaring a state of emergency,” he said. Until negotiations are restored, Perus army and security forces will have special powers to quell protests and clear roadblocks that have cut off the mine.” (2) Reuters reported shortly thereafter: “Thousands of Peruvians marched in support of the countrys biggest-ever mining project yesterday, a day after the government implemented emergency powers to control an anti-mining protest in the south that turned deadly. The rally in the northern region of Cajamarca in favour of Newmont Minings $4.8 billion Conga project praised the economic benefits of mining, a contrast to demonstrations in Cusco against Xstratas Tintaya mine in which two people were killed.” (3) “Conga has gold deposits worth about $15 billion at current prices and would be the biggest investment ever in Peru mining. It is a crucial test for newly installed Humala who has on many occasions publicly backed the project. Royalties and taxes to the government from Conga, which would also produce copper, could total $800 million per year and operation was scheduled to start in 2014.”
(4)
 
Ausländische Rohstoffunternehmen ermöglichen nicht nur den Export der Rohstoffe eines Landes zu globalen Märkten, sondern auch den Import von Geldmitteln, Technologien und Know-How, wodurch neue Industrien, Märkte, Infrastruktur, Einkommen, Arbeit, qualifizierte Arbeitskräfte und Steuern geschaffen werden. Wenn die Bevölkerung eines Landes das Gefühl hat, nicht an dieser Wissens- und Wohlstandsschaffung zu partizipieren, dann müsste sie entsprechenden Druck gegen die Regierung ausüben und nicht gegen das ausländische Rohstoffunternehmen, denn dieses unternimmt nur das, was laut den in Kraft stehenden Rahmenbedingungen der jeweiligen Regierung erlaubt wurde.
 
Andere Senior-Minenunternehmen in Peru sind v.a. Barrick, BHP Billiton, Rio Tinto, Xstrata, Pan American Silver, First Quantum, Rio Alto, Hudbay, Candente Copper und das chinesische Staatsunternehmen Chinalco. Da es typischerweise die grossen Minenprojekte sind, die traditionellerweise schwere Proteste und Ausschreitungen von Anti-Minengruppen hervorrufen, so gehen kleine Projekte normalerweise reibungslos und ohne öffentliche Beachtung durch die Phasen von der Exploration bishin zur Produktion. Da Peru so reich an Mineralen ist, gibt es viele Tausend kleine illegale Abbaubetriebe mit denen u.a. >40 Tonnen Gold pro Jahr gehoben werden. Dies ist möglich hauptsächlich dank den geologischen Gegebenheiten von hydrothermalen Gold- und Silberlagerstätten – typischerweise mit wenige Meter breiten, hochgradig vererzten Gängen (“veins”), die für einige hundert Meter nahe der Erdoberfläche verlaufen und somit kostengünstigen Untertagebau mittels wenige Meter breiten Abbauschächten, die dem Gangverlauf folgen, ermöglichen. Wenn die Gänge ausreichend mit Gold und/oder Silber angereichert sind, so kann ein Minenbetrieb relativ schnell erfolgen, da sofort mit den ersten Metern des Abbaus Cash-Flow generiert wird, der in weitere kostengünstige Exploration und Infrastruktur vor Ort investiert wird; z.B. begann Silvercorp Metals Inc. (TSX: SVM) genau auf diese Weise, seinen Minenbetrieb zu finanzieren und ist heute eine der rentabelsten Silberminen der Welt. Da es eher unwahrscheinlich ist, noch so eine grosse Silberlagerstätte irgendwo in der Welt zu entdecken, wie es Silvercorp vor mehr als 10 Jahren gelungen ist, so existieren hunderte kleinere, weniger komplexe und weniger kostenaufwändige Lagerstätten vor allem in Latein-Amerika, die es einem (privaten oder börsengelisteten) Unternehmen erlauben, mit der Produktion relativ schnell innerhalb ein paar weniger Monate nach Entdeckung und erster Ressourcen-Definition zu beginnen. In solchen Fällen sind keine jahrelange und millionenschwere Bohrprogramme und Machbarkeitsstudien notwendig, da der Minenbetrieb als klein klassifiziert wird und Einnahmen von einigen 10 Mio. Dollar jährlich für ein paar Jahre beschert bei gleichzeitig kostengünstiger Infrastruktur vor Ort.

Eines der Explorationsunternehmen, das wir verfolgen ist Sunset Cove Mining Corp. (TSX: SSM), das 2008 von Lorne Woods und Marc Blais gegründet wurde. Wir kennen Herrn Woods noch von seiner Elephanten-grossen Erfolgsgeschichte Osisko Mining Corp. (TSX: OSK), die >10 Mio. Unzen Gold in Kanada entdeckt haben und nun >3 Mrd. Dollar wert sind. Wir verfolgen Woods auch, da er regelmässig lesenswerte Artikel in seinem Blog über Weltwirtschaft, Aktienmärkte, Rohstoffunternehmen und Länder wie Peru schreibt, wo er – als CEO & Präsident von SSM – die Entwicklung von einigen hochgradigen Silbergängen nahe der Erdoberfläche gen Abbau in relativ kurzer Zeit vorantreibt. Zusammen mit Blais verfügen beide über einen Erfahrunsschatz von 35 Jahren, in denen sie Minenbetriebe leiteten und börsengelistete Unternehmen finanzierten. Da wir sie noch von Zeiten Osiskos kennen, wissen wir um ihren Zugang zu einem handverlesenen, internationalen Netwerk aus privaten und institutionellen Investoren, Family Offices und Brokern. Während den letzten Jahren installierten sie ein einzigartig erfahrenes Team vor Ort in Peru, das aus einem Minen-Ingenieur, einem Minen-Geologen und einem etablierten General Manager besteht, wobei allesamt über umfangreiche Erfahrung mit internationalen und peruanischen Minenunternehmen verfügen. Zusammen besitzen sie Zugang zu einem ausschlaggebenden Netzwerk reichhaltig besetzt mit lokalem Wissen und Erfahrung, um Lagerstätten gen Produktion zu entwickeln – und zwar ohne grosses Theater.

Aktuell ist ihr Hauptprojekt das polymetallische Silbergrundstück namens Carolay, wo Explorationsbohrungen während 2012 stattfinden. Die Mineralisation, die auf Carolay und dem benachbarten Maranon Sektor vorkommt, passt in das Modell von hydrothermalen polymetallisch-angereicherten Gangsystemen mit sog. Mantos (metasomatische Verdrängungszonen reich an Basismetallen wie Zink, Blei, Gold, Silber und Kupfer) und hat Ähnlichkeiten mit dem bekannten Coeur DAlene Silberdistrikt in Idaho, wo historisch am meisten Silber in den USA gehoben wurde. Der NI43-101 Technische Report für Carolay, welches Grundstück mittlerweile 5,784 ha gross ist, demonstriert eine abbauwürdige Mineralisation von 269 g/t Silber. Ein neuer Gang, Carolay 4, wurde vor kurzem entdeckt und Gesteinsproben vom 15 m langen ausbeissenden Teil hatten 352 g/t Silber zum Ergebnis, wobei eine Probe 4.674 g/t Silber beinhaltete. Es gibt auch Indizien für einen auf dem Grundstück disseminiert vorkommenden Kupfer-Erzkörper, potentiell von porphyrischer Art. Porphyr-Lagerstätten liefern den grössten Anteil am weltweit geförderten Kupfer und können zudem gehörige Beimengungen an Silber und Gold beheimaten.

Während 2012 beabsichtigt SSM, seinen Fokus auf das Carolay Projekt zu richten, indem das bereits begonnene Bohrprogramm über >6,000 Meter Gesamtkernlänge bis Ende des Jahres fortgeführt und ein aktualisierter NI43-101 Technischer Report fertiggestellt wird, womit alsdann 2 wichtige Ziele erreicht wurden: 1. Die erste offizielle (NI43-101-konforme) Carolay Ressourcenkalkulation zu präsentieren. 2. Die kürzlich akquirierten Humberto und Maranon Sektoren zu explorieren, die das Grundstück auf 5.784 ha mehr als verdoppelt haben. Gesteinsprobenahmen von der Erdoberfläche hatten positive Ergebnisse und beide Sektoren sind bereit, mit Bohrungen exploriert zu werden, um ihr Potential zu lüften. Darüberhinaus wird der aussichtsreiche Carolay 4 Gang weiter entwickelt.


Alle Grundstücke von SSM befinden sich nahe aktiv betriebenen, signifikanten Minen- und Explorationsprojekten. Das Unternehmen wird nicht nur an der kanadischen Börse Toronto Exchange (TSX.V: SSM) gehandelt, sondern auch an der Bolsa de Valores de Lima in Peru (BVL: SSM). Der Hauptsitz befindet sich in Toronto, während auch ein Büro in Montreal unterhalten wird. Das voll im Besitz befindliche, peruanische Unternehmen sitzt in Lima (Minera Sunset Del Peru SAC).
 
Carolay liegt nahe dem Dorf Ushnobal in La Libertad. Etwas Silber wurde im Kleinstbergbau (“artisanal mining”) auf Carolay während den 1870er Jahre abgebaut. Der letzte Grundstückshalter hatte nicht ausreichend Kapital, um weitere Exploration zu tätigen. Nach einem gründlichen Bewertungsprozess und erfolgreichen Verhandlungen übernahm SSM das Grundstück.


 
Mit einer Entfernung von 550 km NNW von Lima besteht die regionale Geologie von Carolay aus präkambrischen Metamorphiten vom Maronon Metamorphic Complex, der bekannt für seine reichhaltigen Mineralisationen und seinem Potential für Entdeckungen ist. Es ist co-magmatisch mit dem Pataz Batholith, der innerhalb dem Gold und Silber Pataz Minendistrikt vorkommt. Beide geologischen Formationen – Maranon und Pataz – stammen von der gleichen Magma. Carolay befindet sich an den Rändern vom Pataz Batholith. Der produktive Pataz Mining Belt ist weltweit für seine hochgradig vererzten Gold- und Silberlagerstätten bekannt. Gemäss dem Geological, Mining & Metallurgical Institute of Peru wurden 6 Mio. Unzen Gold in den Minendistrikten Pataz, Parcoy und Buldibuyo mit 16 Minen während den letzten 100 Jahren abgebaut.
 
An das Carolay Grundstück angrenzend und in der Nähe befinden sich Konzessionsblocks, die von Minera Aurifera Retamas und Consorcio Minero Horizonte unterhalten werden. Diese peruanischen Minenunternehmen betreiben gut bekannte Edelmetallminen in der Nähe von der Maranon Verwerfung (“fault”). Innerhalb einem 50 km Radius operieren die bedeutenden Gold- und Silberproduzenten Poderosa, Maranon, Retamas und Horizonte. Die gleichen geologischen Charakteristika dieser Edelmetall-Produktionsgebiete kommen auch auf Carolay vor, wobei die topographischen, tektonischen und petrographischen Rahmenbedingungen ähnlich sind.



Abbauwürdige Gehalte an Silber wurden in den Gesteinsproben gefunden, die für den NI43-101 Technischen Report über Carolay gesammelt wurden, allen voran 269 g/t Silber, 0,9% Zink, 0,8% Blei und 0,3% Kupfer. Die auf dem Carolay Grundstück und dem benachbarten Maranon Sektor vorkommende Mineralisation passt in das Modell von polymetallischen Ganglagerstätten und hat Ähnlichkeiten mit dem Coeur DAlene Silberdistrikt. Am 30. Mai veröffentlichte SSM die Laborergebnisse vom 1. Bohrloch, das einen hochgradigen Gang mit 151 g/t Silber über knapp einen halben Meter Länge durchteufte. Weitere Bohrergebnisse vom aktuell stattfindenden Bohrprogramm werden während den nächsten Wochen bekanntgegeben, wobei ein regelmässiger Newsflow während den nächsten Monaten gegeben ist, mit dem die Ausdehnungen derartiger Gänge bestätigt und potentielle neue Mineralisationszonen entdeckt werden können.
 
Die Fähigkeit von SSM, Grundstücke wie Carolay zu finden und zu akquirieren basiert auf dem Netzwerk, das es in der peruanischen Minenbranche mit seinem Erfahrungsschatz aus 48 Jahren aufgebaut hat. Diese Fähigkeit ermöglicht dem Unternehmen einen Wettbewerbsvorteil, mit dem sich nur wenige Andere ebenfalls krönen können.
 
  

Disclaimer:Bitte lesen Sie den vollständigen Haftungsausschluss auf www.rockstone-research.com
Die obigen Ausführungen stellen insbesondere keine Finanzberatung oder gar Empfehlung dar, Wertpapiere oder andersartige Finanzinstrumente von den hier erwähnten Unternehmen, Märkten oder Rohstoffen zu kaufen, zu verkaufen oder gar zu halten. Der Autor wurde von den hier erwähnten Unternehmen weder beauftragt noch geltlich oder unentgeltlich entschädigt. Der Autor hält keine Wertpapiere oder sonstige Anteile an den hier erwähnten Unternehmen, wobei er mindestens 72 Stunden nach Veröffentlichung des Artikel ggf. Aktien von SSM zu kaufen gedenkt.